Select Page

Unlocking Excellence: The UNESCO Learning City Award

Unlocking Excellence: The UNESCO Learning City Award

In a world where education is key to unlocking opportunities, the UNESCO Learning City Award shines as a beacon of recognition for cities dedicated to fostering quality education and lifelong learning for all. This prestigious award, presented triennially, celebrates the remarkable progress made by cities across the globe in the realm of learning city development, as outlined by the UNESCO Global Network of Learning Cities (GNLC) guiding principles.

What is the UNESCO Learning City Award?

Established to honor cities that exemplify excellence in promoting education and lifelong learning at the local level, the UNESCO Learning City Award showcases best practices and innovative initiatives. Recognizing the pivotal role cities play in shaping learning environments, this award underscores the importance of inclusivity and accessibility in education.

How Can a Learning City Apply?

Cities aspiring to earn this esteemed accolade must meet specific criteria and adhere to the application process:

  • Complete the award application form, to be made available soon, and submit additional materials supporting their application.
  • Obtain the signature of the city’s mayor on the application form and sign the consent form.
  • Submit the application to their country’s National Commission for UNESCO.

Each National Commission for UNESCO can nominate up to two cities for consideration. The selection of awardees is entrusted to an independent jury composed of international experts in lifelong learning.

Who is Eligible?

The UNESCO Learning City Award 2024 welcomes applications from all UNESCO GNLC member cities with over 12 months of network membership. Notably, past awardees are ineligible for six years following their receipt of the award. This ensures equitable opportunities for all member cities striving for excellence in learning initiatives.

How are Cities Selected?

The forthcoming Learning Cities Award will be bestowed during the sixth International Conference on Learning Cities in December 2024, in Jubail, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. The application window spans from April 22 to May 31, 2024, offering cities ample time to showcase their commitment to education and lifelong learning.

Join the Ranks of Excellence

As we applaud the dedication and innovation of past awardees, we eagerly anticipate the emergence of new champions in learning city development. The UNESCO Learning City Award stands as a testament to the transformative power of education, inspiring cities worldwide to embark on a journey of lifelong learning excellence.